Our articles are written by experts in their field and include barristers, solicitors, judges, mediators, academics and professionals from a range of related disciplines. Family Law provides a platform for debate for all the important topics, from divorce and care proceedings to transparency and access to justice. If you would like to contribute please email editor@familylaw.co.uk.
A day in the life Of...
Read on

Family hubs transformation fund: successful local authorities named by DfE

Date:24 OCT 2023
Third slide

The Department for Education (DfE) launched the £12 million family hubs transformation fund in November 2021 to support local authorities in England to open family hubs.

The fund enables local authorities to:

  • learn more about the process of local transformation
  • build our evidence base
  • create valuable resources and learning for those local authorities moving to a family hub model in the future

The family hubs transformation fund is different and separate to the family hubs and start for life programme that was announced as part of the 2021 autumn budget. Eligibility criteria for the fund was announced in April 2022 as part of a £1 billion government commitment to families.

Family Court Practice, The
Family Court Practice, The
Order the 2024 edition
Family Law
Family Law
"the principal (monthly) periodical dealing with...
Family Court Practice, The
Family Court Practice, The
Order the 2024 edition

The application window closed in December 2021, and we received 84 bids from upper-tier local authorities. The volume of applications showed a real appetite for change, and the high quality of bids reflected passion and dedication to delivering for children and families.

The 13 local authorities that receive family hubs transformation funding are:

  • Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Cheshire East
  • Cumberland
  • Dorset
  • London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham
  • Leicestershire
  • Merton
  • Solihull
  • Stockport
  • Westmorland and Furness
  • Wirral
  • York

DfE originally selected 12 local authorities for funding, including Cumbria County Council. Cumbria split into 2 new local authorities in April 2023. These are Cumberland, and Westmorland and Furness.