Family Law Awards 2020
Shortlist announced - time to place your vote!
Court of Protection Practice 2020
'Court of Protection Practice goes from strength to strength, having...
Jackson's Matrimonial Finance Tenth Edition
Jackson's Matrimonial Finance is an authoritative specialist text...
Latest articles
Resolution issues Brexit notes for family lawyers ahead of IP completion day
Family lawyer organisation, Resolution, has issued two joint notes to assist family lawyers in England and Wales ahead of the end of the Brexit transition/implementation period at 11 pm on 31 December...
Online filing is real-time on New Year's Eve: practice direction change to accommodate EU withdrawal arrangements
I have heard that there will be an amendment to the relevant practice directions to provide that online applications received on New Year’s Eve after 4:30 PM and before 11:00 PM will count as...
Northamptonshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust v AB
The issue in this case concerned AB’s capacity to make specific decisions about treatment relating to her anorexia nervosa. She was 28 years old and had suffered with anorexia since the age of...
EU laws continue until at least 2038 and beyond
The UK left the EU on 31 January 2020.  But in matters of law it fully leaves on 31 December 2020.  But EU laws will continue to apply, and be applied, in the English family courts from 1...
Remote hearings in family proceedings – how is justice perceived?
The motion for the recent Kingsley Napley debate:  “This House believes remote hearings are not remotely fair” was carried with a fairly balanced 56% in favour and 44% against....
View all articles

Next President of the Family Division among family lawyers honoured at LALYs

Sep 29, 2018, 22:03 PM
Family Law, Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards, Sir Andrew McFarlane, Martha Cover, Sophie Freeman, Tony McGovern, Dan Rosenberg
The incoming President of the Family Division, Sir Andrew McFarlane, was awarded the Outstanding Achievement award at the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2018 (LALYs).
Slug : next-president-of-the-family-division-among-family-lawyers-honoured-at-lalys
Meta Title : Next President of the Family Division among family lawyers honoured at LALYs
Meta Keywords :
Canonical URL :
Trending Article : Yes
Prioritise In Trending Articles : Yes
Date : Jul 18, 2018, 09:41 AM
Article ID : 117273

The incoming President of the Family Division, Sir Andrew McFarlane, was awarded the Outstanding Achievement award at the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards 2018 (LALYs). Baroness Doreen Lawrence OBE presented the award in front of an audience of 500 guests.

Sir Andrew, who will take over the appointment of President on 28 July following the retirement of Sir James Munby, was one of a number of members of the family law community who were celebrated at the Awards, including Martha Cover of Coram Chambers (Legal aid barrister), Sophie Freeman of Coram Children's Legal Centre (Social and welfare law), Tony McGovern of Creighton & Partners (Family legal aid - including mediation) and Dan Rosenberg of Simpson Millar (Children's rights). Ealing Law Centre won the Legal aid firm/Not-for-profit agency Award.

Accepting his award, Sir Andrew referred to legal aid as a ‘vocation’, adding:

'It is very good that we live in a country which has developed a sophisticated understanding of the importance of human rights. But those rights are no good to anybody unless people have access to them. The only way to access them is to have a key, and the key is the lawyer. Without lawyers, access to justice is just an empty phrase.'

Other award winners included Harriet Wistrich of Birnberg Peirce (Public Lawyer of the Year); Giles Peaker of Anthony Gold Solicitors (Housing Lawyer of the Year); Aika Stephenson (Criminal Defence Lawyer of the Year); Adam Makepeace of Tuckers Solicitors (Legal aid practice management); Lewis Kett of Duncan Lewis (Legal aid newcomer) and Case Ratio by Tuckers Solicitors (Access to justice through IT).

Categories :
  • News
Tags :
Provider :
Product Bucket :
Load more comments
Comment by from